Stack and Raty Win Major Awards

(Mar. 24, 2018)

2017-18 CWHL scoring champion Kelli Stack and Markham Thunder forward Jamie Lee Rattray were named MVP’s during the CWHL’s annual Awards Show, this season presented by the National Hockey League Players’ Association at the Toronto Centre for the Arts on Friday, March 23.

After claiming the Angela James Bowl as the league scoring champion with 49 points (26 G, 23 A), Stack was honoured as the CWHL MVP, voted on by coaches and staff. Meanwhile, Rattray took home the Jayna Hefford Trophy as the players’ voted MVP after leading her team through a second half playoff push with a 16-game scoring streak to end the season. The Jayna Hefford Trophy was presented in partnership with the NHLPA this season by CWHLPA rep Liz Knox and Toronto Maple Leafs defenceman Connor Carrick.

Kunlun Red Star netminder Noora Raty took home Goaltender of the Year honours, leading the CWHL this season in both goals-against average (1.60) and save percentage (.944). Les Canadiennes de Montreal Cathy Chartrand claimed her second Defenceman of the Year award after leading all defenceman in plus-minus (28), while finishing third in defenceman scoring with 22 points (5 G, 17 A). Rounding out the player recognition, 18-year old Calgary Inferno forward Sophie Shirley was honoured as Rookie of the Year, making immediate contributions on a deep roster by finishing top 20 in league scoring with 19 points (8 G, 11 G) in her rookie campaign.

Also recognized on the evening was Calgary Inferno head coach Tomas Pacina who was named Coach of the Year. In his first season behind the Inferno bench, Pacina guided a Calgary roster which was without 11 Olympians from a season ago due to Olympic centralization. The Inferno broke out of the gates quickly opening the season without a regulation loss through the first 13 games before ending the season in third with a 17-7-4 (W-L-OTL).

The CWHL honoured Brad Morris with the Humanitarian Award. Morris’ contributions to women’s hockey and the CWHL have been innumerable. Having previously served as CWHL Chairman, Morris has played a major role in various milestones for the CWHL, most recently providing support for the Thunder franchises move to Markham and the CWHL’s expansion to China.

2018 CWHL Awards Show Winners


Kelli Stack – Kunlun Red Star 

Jayna Hefford Trophy ( players-voted MVP, presented in partnership with the NHLPA)

Jamie Lee Rattray – Markham Thunder

Goaltender of the Year (nominees)

Noora Räty – Kunlun Red Star 

Defenceman of the Year

Cathy Chartrand – Les Canadiennes de Montréal 

Rookie of the Year

Sophie Shirley – Calgary Inferno 

Coach of the Year 

Tomas Pacina – Calgary Inferno 

Humanitarian Award 

Brad Morris

Angela James Bowl (awarded to the regular season scoring champion)

Kelli Stack – Kunlun Red Star

Chairman’s Trophy (awarded to the regular season champions)

Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Purchase tickets for the 2018 Clarkson Cup Weekend including the 2018 CWHL Awards Show and the Clarkson Cup Final by visiting